Author Topic: Wouldn't mind some input on this "42/civilian"  (Read 5600 times)

Johnnyk

• View Profile
Wouldn't mind some input on this "42/civilian"
« on: February 16, 2018, 09:15:53 AM »
As mentioned on my other post about the stocks on a potential purchase of a '42 production civilian model HSc 7.65 I've got a few questions.  If you'd like to take a few moments, the gun in question is listed in the Gun Library on the Cabelas website.  There are just two photos of it, one of each side.  It's one of four HSc's listed and the only one with plastic stocks.  As of a few days ago it's being shipped to my local Cabelas where I'll be able to check it out and give it a thumbs down or purchase it. 
I'm new to the Mauser world, having had a 70's made HSc 7.65 back in the early 80's and I currently have a 1944 Mauser-made P-38.  Questions are this:  The photos of the "Cabelas HSc" look to show a fairly rough finish, as in the final machining finish.  Would this be normal for a 1942 civilian model?  Also, if you happen to check it out on the website the roll markings on the slide don't appear to be very deep - but this could be the lighting.
And finally, is the anything specific I might look for when this gun comes in, either mechanically or historically?  It looks to be in remarkably good shape for a 76 year old firearm.

jcorl

• Trusted Contributor
    • View Profile
Re: Wouldn't mind some input on this "42/civilian"
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 10:38:28 AM »
What website did you find it on?   Gunsinternational?   I will look at the photos, if they are still posted.

Jim
Jim

Johnnyk

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2018, 12:17:23 PM »
On the Cabelas website.  If you go there, select "Shooting", then click on the "Gun Library" and punch in "Mauser HSc".   Thanks!

Warbird

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2018, 12:21:24 PM »