Author Topic: Where Are YOU?  (Read 6833 times)

Warbird

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Where Are YOU?
« on: December 15, 2016, 08:20:55 PM »
With well over 500 members now I would expect a lot more participation from everyone.  Surely YOU have a Mauser story to tell or a question to explore.  JUMP IN ... the water's fine and full of friends!  I'm waiting ...

jcorl

• Trusted Contributor
    • View Profile
Re: Where Are YOU?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2016, 12:20:38 PM »
I am just an old fart that collected my dad's guns and then the guns that dad gave me to learn to shoot.  I was an ace 10 year old BB gun shooter for a long time, until dad bought me my first shotgun to guail hunt.  We use to have guail in Missouri, thus the Browning A-5.  Then I graduated into the Remington .22 and I took on tin cans in the chat piles around town.  I was one of the best tin can shooters in the area.  Attempted to go to West Point and became the principle appointee, but then I got a call from Army Coach Cahill and said they wanted an All Conference player and had decided to go with alternate No. 8.  So the Black Knights were out and Army ROTC was in my sights at MIZZOU.  There I learned the greatest weapon in the world, the M-1.  Joined the Tiger drill team and I could spin, flip, and pitch that M1 any where and any time.  Dropped it a few 100 times in the process, but learned the toughness of this amazing gun.  Joined the Army in 1969 and learned about some amazing weapons, both individual and crew served.  Give me 5 trained heavy mortar guys and a 3.2" mortar, then support my position with a quad .50 cal. and a rifle squad and I can make some serious noise and sadly kill allot of people.  In other military terms. accomplish the op. order.  After collecting German guns after college, I met a gal that wanted to marry me. Trouble is, I did not want to marry here and she left.  One weekend she came back and my gun collection was gone.   So collecting had to start over.  I go